Johnson Middle School

Skip to main content
Social Studies Department » Social Studies Department

Social Studies Department

Social Studies Department Mission Statement

To provide all students with an understanding of history, in order to promote lifelong learning, critical thinking, effective communication, informed decision-making, and to ensure participation as active, productive citizens in this nation, as well as a part of a global society.

Content:
All grade level curriculum is aligned with History-Social Science Content Standards as well as the Common Core State Standards for Literacy in History-Social Science.

6th grade Social Studies:
6th grade Social Studies classes utilize the TCI History Alive program to introduce students to the early civilizations of Egypt and the Near East, India, China, Greece, and Rome

7th Grade Social Studies:
7th Grade Social Studies classes explore the civilizations from Europe, Africa, and the Middle East to Asia and the Americas.

8th Grade Social Studies:
8th Grade Social Studies classes learn about history of the United States from its earliest foundations to the age of industrialism.



Social Studies Department Teachers

6th grade:
Mr. Doyle jdoyle@wsdk8.us
Ms. Fong kfong@wsdk8.us
Ms. Shipp dshipp@wsdk8.us
Mr. Schammann pschammann@wsdk8.us

7th grade:
Mr. McFall gmcfall@wsdk8.us
Mr. Schammann pschammann@wsdk8.us

8th grade:
Mrs. Capel kcapel@wsdk8.us       Department Chair
Ms. Falley cfalley@wsdk8.us

Social Studies